Skip to main content

Tackers Squad

Tackers Squad is the entry level Off The Beach Club coaching and introductory race program for young sailors who have successfully completed a Tackers 3 sailing course, and who wish to further advance their sailing to competition level.

The safe harbour of Sandringham Yacht Club provides young sailors with the opportunity to extend their sailing experience and build confidence on the water. It’s a great way to meet new friends, practice sailing techniques and to develop an understanding of basic racing rules. Tackers Squad is designed to introduce sailors and their families to racing and to what it means to be part of the Sandringham Yacht Club community in a fun and simple way.

At the completion of the Tackers Squad program, sailors will be able to either crew in an International Cadet or purchase their own Optimist. They will be encouraged to join in Club racing on Sunday afternoons in the main fleet. There is also the option of leasing one of the club’s boats for a season.

Click here for session times and dates

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Race using all of the ‘Green Fleet’ rules
  • Raise my centreboard downwind
  • Start a race with flag and sound signals
  • Stay close to the start line
  • Finish most races that I start

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Identify basic flags and their meanings
  • List common race course configurations
  • Change my sail settings
  • Rig and derig my boat from scratch

 

After School Program

Tackers Squad / After School Program

  • Thursday, October 11, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 18, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 25, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, November 01, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, November 08, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM

8 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / After School Program

  • Thursday, November 15, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, November 22, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, November 29, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 06, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM

8 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Holiday Program

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, September 24, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 27, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

2 PLACES AVAILABLE

$200 NON MEMBER $200 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, September 24, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 27, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$200 NON MEMBER $200 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, October 01, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 02, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, October 03, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 04, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, October 05, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

2 PLACES AVAILABLE

$240 NON MEMBER $240 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, October 01, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 02, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, October 03, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 04, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, October 05, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

3 PLACES AVAILABLE

$240 NON MEMBER $240 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 10, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 14, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 10, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, December 14, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 17, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 19, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 20, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 21, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 17, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 19, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 20, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, December 21, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Thursday, December 27, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 28, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 29, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 30, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Monday, December 31, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Thursday, December 27, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, December 28, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 29, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 30, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Monday, December 31, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Wednesday, January 02, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 03, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 04, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 05, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$230 NON MEMBER $230 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Wednesday, January 02, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 03, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 04, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 05, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$230 NON MEMBER $230 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 07, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 08, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 09, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 10, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 11, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 07, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 08, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 09, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 10, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 11, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 14, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 18, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 14, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 18, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 21, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 23, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 24, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 25, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 21, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 23, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 24, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 25, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Weekend Program

Tackers Squad / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, October 20, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 27, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 03, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, October 20, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 27, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 03, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, November 10, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 01, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 08, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers Squad / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, November 10, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 01, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 08, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$260 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE