Skip to main content
Adult Learn to Sail

Start Sailing 1

This Course is designed to provide a safe and enjoyable introduction to Dinghy sailing for complete beginners. The Course includes an introduction to fundamental boat handling skills and essential safety knowledge.

Our Dinghy Programs are priced between $220 and $385pp and we do offer a member discount. If you would like to be notified when course dates are confirmed please email [email protected]

Click here for session times and dates

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Leave and return back to the beach
  • Avoid other boats
  • Recognise and get out of the ‘no go zone’
  • Reach around a figure of 8 and sausage courses
  • Right a capsized boat
  • Recover crew in a ‘man over board’ situation
  • Stop the boat and get it going again
  • Identify dangerous situations in and around the marina
  • Sit on the side of the boat and face the sail
  • Sail without kneeling
  • Steer and control the mainsail at the same time
  • Tack facing forward and changing my hands behind my back
  • Know where to have the sails set for all points of sailing

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Dress for the conditions including the right PFD, sunscreen, hat and footwear
  • Name the main parts of the boat
  • Tie a ‘figure of 8’, ‘bowline’ and a ‘reef’ knot
  • Respect the boats that I’m using
  • Name the main ‘points’ of sailing
  • Use aids to determine the wind direction and strength
  • Rig and derig a boat with assistance

 

Holiday Program

Start Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, September 20, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 22, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 23, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$280 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, September 27, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 28, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 29, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 30, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, October 01, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

6 PLACES AVAILABLE

$330 NON MEMBER $310 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 13, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 14, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 15, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 17, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

6 PLACES AVAILABLE

$330 NON MEMBER $310 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 20, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 21, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 22, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 23, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 24, 2021
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

6 PLACES AVAILABLE

$330 NON MEMBER $310 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Tuesday, January 04, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 05, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 06, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 07, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

6 PLACES AVAILABLE

$280 NON MEMBER $260 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 10, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 11, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 12, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 13, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 14, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$330 NON MEMBER $310 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 17, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 18, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 19, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 20, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 21, 2022
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

6 PLACES AVAILABLE

$330 NON MEMBER $310 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE