Skip to main content
Adult Learn to Sail

Better Sailing

This course is designed to consolidate the experience and knowledge gained in ‘Start Sailing’. Skills and knowledge are introduced that will enable the successful participant to safely and competently sail a dinghy in controlled conditions independently.

Click here for session times and dates

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Sail a windward / leeward course
  • Perform a 360 degree turn
  • Use the tiller extension
  • Sail a ‘close hauled’ course without assistance
  • Identify gusts on the water
  • Come alongside a stationary object and stop
  • Raise the centreboard downwind
  • Understand tell tails and adjust the sails accordingly
  • Adjust body weight to trim the boat

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Name the all of the parts of the boat
  • Rig and derig a boat from scratch
  • Know where to source weather forecasts
  • Tie a ‘round turn and two half hitches’

 

Holiday Program

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, September 30, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 01, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, October 02, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 03, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, October 04, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

2 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 09, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 10, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 12, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 13, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

11 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 16, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 17, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 18, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 19, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 20, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Friday, December 27, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 28, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 29, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Monday, December 30, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 31, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Thursday, January 02, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 03, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 04, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Sunday, January 05, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$270 NON MEMBER $270 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 06, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 07, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 08, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 09, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 10, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 13, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 14, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 15, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 16, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 17, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 20, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 21, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 23, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 24, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, March 30, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 31, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 01, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 02, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, April 03, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, April 06, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 07, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 08, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 09, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$270 NON MEMBER $270 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Weekend Program

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, October 19, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 26, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 09, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 16, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 23, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 30, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 07, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

3 PLACES AVAILABLE

$385 NON MEMBER $385 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, October 19, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 26, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 09, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 16, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 23, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, November 30, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 07, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$385 NON MEMBER $385 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, February 01, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 08, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 29, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 14, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 21, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

5 PLACES AVAILABLE

$385 NON MEMBER $385 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, February 01, 2020
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 08, 2020
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 29, 2020
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 14, 2020
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 21, 2020
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

6 PLACES AVAILABLE

$385 NON MEMBER $385 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Adult Dinghy / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, April 18, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 02, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 09, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 16, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 23, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 30, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, June 13, 2020
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

12 PLACES AVAILABLE

$385 NON MEMBER $385 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE