Skip to main content

Tackers 1

This program is designed to provide a safe and enjoyable introduction to dinghy sailing for primary school kids.

Kids sail in pairs in small boats called Ozi Opti’s. They learn the basics of boat handling, and maneuvering, practice safety drills and how to recover from a capsize. All exercises are incorporated into games so the kids are unaware they are in a lesson, they are just having fun. It’s a great way to meet new friends while mucking about on the water.

Click here for session times and dates

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Leave and return back to the beach
  • Be towed around behind a rescue boat
  • Avoid other boats
  • Recognise the ‘no go zone’
  • Reach around a figure of 8 course
  • Right a capsized boat
  • Recover my crew in a ‘man over board’ situation
  • Stop my boat and get it going again
  • Swim 25 meters in a PFD

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Dress for the conditions including the right PFD, sunscreen, hat and footwear
  • Name the main parts of my boat
  • Tie a ‘figure of 8’ knot
  • Point to where the wind is coming from
  • Respect the boats that I’m using

 

After School Program

Tackers 1 / After School Program

  • Wednesday, February 06, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 13, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 20, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 27, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 06, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 13, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 27, 2019
    04:15 PM to 06:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$365 NON MEMBER $365 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Holiday Program

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 10, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 14, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 10, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, December 14, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 17, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 19, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 20, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 21, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

9 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, December 17, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, December 19, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, December 20, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, December 21, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Thursday, December 27, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, December 28, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 29, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 30, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Monday, December 31, 2018
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Thursday, December 27, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, December 28, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 29, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 30, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Monday, December 31, 2018
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Wednesday, January 02, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 03, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 04, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 05, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

6 PLACES AVAILABLE

$270 NON MEMBER $270 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Wednesday, January 02, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 03, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 04, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 05, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$270 NON MEMBER $270 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 07, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 08, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 09, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 10, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 11, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

8 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 07, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 08, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 09, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 10, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 11, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 14, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 18, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 14, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 18, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 21, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 23, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 24, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, January 25, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

7 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 21, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 23, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 24, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 25, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $320 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Weekend Program

Tackers 1 / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, February 09, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 16, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 23, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 02, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 16, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 23, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 30, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$365 NON MEMBER $365 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Tackers 1 / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, February 09, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 16, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 23, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 02, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 16, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 23, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 30, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

10 PLACES AVAILABLE

$365 NON MEMBER $365 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE