Skip to main content

SYC wins the 2022 Association Cup!

Tuesday, 22nd March 2022

Sandringham Yacht Club’s team successfully defended the Association Cup on Sunday 20 March.

The Association Cup is the most prestigious trophy in Victorian Yachting.

It dates back to 1907 when the Victorian Yacht Racing Association presented a cup to be competed for by yachts in the Registers of Clubs in the Association. It is to be run late in the season on Port Phillip Bay. The winning club holds the trophy for 12months and hosts the running of the event the following season.

Sandringham Yacht Club’s team of Xpresso (Ari Abrahams and team) and Frenzy (Jon Evans and team) placed 1st and 2nd respectively in a competitive fleet of six AMS boats representing SYC, RMYS and HBYC.

In ORC, SYC’s Veloce (Phil Simpfendorfer and team) and Arch De Triomphe (Alex Newman and team) also placed 1st and 2nd respectively with Martini Racing (RBYC) finishing a close 3rd. The ORC division consisted of eight boats from SYC, RBYC, RMYS and HBYC.

SYC’s total points were 14 and it was Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron finishing in second on 40 points.

The boat of the day was Xpresso comfortably winning both races. Veloce almost did the same but a poor start in the last race cost them dearly. They clawed their way back to achieve second place in that race by one second on corrected time, enough to see them finishing in first overall, with one point separating both first and second and another second and third.

Conditions were light and variable SW winds varying from zero to 8 knots for most of the day. The final race of the day saw a random cell come through with wind up to 26knots but that was all gone for docking later in the day.

Thanks to RBYC for lending their start boat and the SYC Flag officers for there contribution on the mark boats, James Sly (boating Office) for his contribution during the day as RO, and the numerous volunteers for their much appreciated contribution to making it a successful day.

Presentations and celebrations were held in the bar after racing.

Full results are available by clicking here