Skip to main content

Start Racing

Probably one of the biggest challenges that the sailors face is to understand the complexity of racing. This course is designed to equip the sailor with enhanced skills to confidently compete in Club racing in most conditions.

Click here for session times and dates

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Start a race with flag and sound signals
  • Stay close to the start line
  • Change sail settings to power up and depower the sails
  • Sail backwards
  • Sail the course efficiently
  • Start to use body weight to help tack and gybe
  • Identify lifts and knocks
  • Determine the bias of the starting line
  • Work efficiently as a team

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Identify basic flags and their meanings
  • List common race course configurations
  • Explain what the control lines do and why I would adjust them
  • Explain the common rules of ‘Part 2’ racing rules of sailing
  • Explain basic sail theory and sail trimming

 

Holiday Program

Start Racing - Youth Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 07, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 08, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 09, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 10, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 11, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

9 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $290 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Racing - Youth Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, January 14, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, January 18, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

7 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $290 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Racing - Youth Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, April 08, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 09, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 10, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 11, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Friday, April 12, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

9 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $290 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Start Racing - Youth Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, April 15, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 16, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 17, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 18, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

9 PLACES AVAILABLE

$290 NON MEMBER $240 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE