Skip to main content
Kids Learn to Sail

Better Sailing

This course is designed to consolidate the experience and knowledge gained in ‘Start Sailing’. Skills and knowledge are introduced that will enable the successful participant to safely and competently sail a dinghy in controlled conditions independently.

Click here for session times and dates

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Sail a windward / leeward course
  • Perform a 360 degree turn
  • Use the tiller extension
  • Sail a ‘close hauled’ course without assistance
  • Identify gusts on the water
  • Come alongside a stationary object and stop
  • Raise the centreboard downwind
  • Understand tell tails and adjust the sails accordingly
  • Adjust body weight to trim the boat

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Name the all of the parts of the boat
  • Rig and derig a boat from scratch
  • Know where to source weather forecasts
  • Tie a ‘round turn and two half hitches’

 

Holiday Program

Better Sailing - Youth Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, April 08, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 09, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 10, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 11, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Friday, April 12, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

7 PLACES AVAILABLE

$320 NON MEMBER $290 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Better Sailing - Youth Dinghy / Holiday Program

  • Monday, April 15, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 16, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Wednesday, April 17, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 18, 2019
    09:00 AM to 12:00 PM

8 PLACES AVAILABLE

$270 NON MEMBER $240 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE

Weekend Program

Better Sailing - Youth Dinghy / Weekend Program

  • Saturday, April 27, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 04, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 11, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 18, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 25, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, June 01, 2019
    01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

8 PLACES AVAILABLE

$385 NON MEMBER $350 SYC MEMBER

BOOK COURSE