Skip to main content



Sydney 38

Sail No

Sm2 (then Sm2004)

Current Owner Name(s)

Allsail Sailing Club


Murray, Burns, Dovell

Build Year





Balsa Core Fibreglass






Sydney Yachts



Current Club


Other Past Boat Names and/or Owners

2000 2003 Another Challenge SYC Lou Abrahams
2003 2010 Another Challenge SYC Chris Leewin
2010 2011 Ella Bache RPAYC Chris Leewin
Unknown Present Another Challenge RPAYC All Sail

Notable Race Events

2001 Sydney 38 Nationals One Design 1st
2002 Sydney 38 Nationals One Design 1st
2000-2003 Sydney - Hobart IMS Overall; 2000-13th; 2001-9th; 2002-3rd; 2003-6th
2004-2011 Sydney - Hobart IRC, Sydney 38 IRC: 2004-21st (3rd S/38); 2006-26th (3rd S/38); 2007-38th (4th S/38); 2010-32nd; 2011-29th (2nd S/38)
2001-2002 Airlie Beach & Hamilton Is Race Week Sydney 38 Class 1st


2000 Bought by Lou as an entry into One Design racing with the popular Sydney 38 class. Lou completed 4 Sydney-Hobarts before then selling the boat to Chris Leewin to encourage a young University crew into the sport. Another Challenge is currently owned by the Allsail Sailing Club operating out of Pittwater, NSW as a training and yacht charter business.
2004 Extract from Rolex Sydney-Hobart web site: The average age of this Victorian crew, who are all students at Melbourne University, is just 21, making them possibly the youngest crew ever to contest the 628 nautical mile race. Team Melbourne Uni has found the yacht they believe will give them another edge over competitors in Lou Abraham’s Sydney 38. Skipper Chris Lewin, 21, and his crew of 11 have been training and fundraising for more than 12 months to get to the start line of the blue water classic
2006 Extract from Rolex Sydney-Hobart web site: Another Challenge, previously owned by Lou Abrahams. The boat has now ‘graduated’ to a new syndicate from Sandringham Yacht Club with some 40 Hobart races between them, including Robert Green who has raced to Hobart 23 times and will skipper the boat south.
2007 Extract from Rolex Sydney-Hobart web site: Converging on Sydney from all over the world, the crew this year comprises experienced youth leading seasoned enthusiasts. On board are four graduates from Another Challenge’s 2004 Rolex Sydney Hobart university student entry combined with six North Sea travellers eager to try the oysters and wine at the Taste of Tasmania.
2010 Extract from Rolex Sydney-Hobart web site: Another Challenge has seen two owners and seven trips to Hobart in her ten years on the water. The first four years were spent with the renowned Lou Abrahams sailing the boat in four of his 44 races south. In 2004, Chris Lewin and his young crew of university students inherited the boat for the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, achieving third in the Sydney 38 division. Since then, she has been part of two further races under Lewin’s direction – the most recent in 2007 with an 'inverted' crew of five young, experienced offshore sailors and five 'mature aged students' eager to learn. This year's entry represents an evolution of the 2007 crew, with the core team returning, together with some new faces in the mix.
2011 Extract from Rolex Sydney-Hobart web site: Young Australian of the Year 2011 Jessica Watson will skipper the youngest crew to ever compete in the Rolex Sydney Hobart. After conquering some of the most treacherous oceans to become the youngest person to sail solo, non-stop and unassisted around the world, Jessica will skipper a crew of 10, all of whom will be 21 or younger - making them the youngest crew ever to compete in the famous race, with an average age of just 19. Among the young crew is Mike Perham from the UK, another solo circumnavigator. All the crew have embarked on a 12 week training program that commenced in October in the lead up to the start of the blue water classic, including a dry run from Sydney to Hobart in November. The crew are seeking to be competitive in the Sydney 38OD division and compete for handicap honours, depending on weather patterns. The team have been coached by Chris Lewin, who skippered another Challenge in 4 x Rolex Sydney Hobart’s – most notably in 2004 where he led the (previous) youngest crew of Melbourne Uni students to third place in the Sydney 38 division, and most recently in 2010 where he achieved second in the division by 29 seconds.

Image Gallery